December Daily Thoughts

Aloha Crafters!!

December has been going strong for a while now. And to be honest this is the point where you either are in love with your album so far, or think what have I done?! The craziness of life starts getting you tired.

I hope you haven’t given up yet though!! This lesson I am learning this year working on my album is you gotta do what works for you this year!! This isn’t last year, where I just had one youtube channel to manage, and just a small circle of crafty friends I was sharing with.

This year so much has changed, and so my plans on how I am going to finish my album on time this may need to change, and that is ok!!

I want my album to be fun, because I honestly love christmas time. I have so many great memories that I want this time of year be super special for my kids too. I want them to feel the magic of Christmas.

My plan before was to record most of my process and share it on my Youtube channel. I love Youtube as a sharing platform. I love seeing others being creative and want to share that too. But this year sharing every time I sit down for twenty minutes here or ten minutes there, just isn’t easy.

I took the guilt of having to share every little detail away, I gave myself permission to make my album low key.

What are you doing with your album that isn’t working because you are trying to be a super crafter!! That is totally me, and really it’s an easy way to get burned out this time of the year!

I still plan to share but just not my process. And that is ok!!

It is ok to switch things up and make this process easier on us. This is a busy season and in the end we need to enjoy right?!!

Here are a few pictures of what I have completed so far.

(FYI I start my album after Thanksgiving since that’s when we start decorating, I just have christmas be my last day)

November 27: We started putting up the tree. I focused on that story. I also journaled about how I almost always run out of lights for the tree.

IMG_4500

I haven’t decided if I am going to embellish the top Deck The Halls card.

For this pocket I am going to sew or fuse it shut, I just haven’t done it yet. Thus the tape.

IMG_4308

IMG_4306

 

November 28:

We finished up the tree. I have more pictures this day, because I took a shot of each child putting up an ornament on the tree.

IMG_4501

 

IMG_4502

 

IMG_4503

November 29:

Since not much happened that day, I documented how the girls had a sleepover downstairs to look at the lights on the tree at night. The photos from this aren’t amazing but I really wanted to add them, because I love how excited they were to experience the magic of the christmas tree.

IMG_4504

November 30:

Nothing really special went on this day, and I wasn’t sure exactly what story I want to tell. I am thinking about retelling an old christmas memory . All I have is the base page done.

IMG_4162

I also have an envelope on the other side of the spread and added the photo of our train under the tree. We try to put this up under the tree every year starting last year.  (Even though I admit that it doesn’t always make it through the season because our children can’t resist touching the train)

IMG_4505

December 1:

Before the first I added a picture of the tree all lit up at night. On the other side I added patterned paper, in which I will add typed up journaling about the signs of christmas. This is a prompt from the Journal Your christmas by Shimelle.

IMG_4506

This is my photo for December 1st. It is a rainbow in the sky.

IMG_4507

 

I haven’t finished this spread either. I have a cloud/rain 3×4 card from the Wonder collection that I am embellishing in one of the pockets. The other I am thinking of adding more journaling.

IMG_4164

 

December 2:

I seen a prompt from Felicity Jane kit club about Hot Cocoa and wanted to make homemade Hot Cocoa for the kids. Which of course they really enjoyed and welcomed, even if it is warm!! Later that night My Hubby brought home Starbucks Hot Cocoa on a stick, YUMM!!

IMG_4166

I have to add the journaling and I may embellish the top card a little more.

 

IMG_4508

 

December 3:

Not much happened on the 3rd as well. We are in the thick of doing school work before the Christmas Break. I took a photo of the school board with the date on it. I also added a picture of out Nativity set to the back of the hot cocoa photo. I still need to add journaling to this day.

IMG_4509

 

IMG_4510

December 4th:

Besides the fact that we did school on the 4th and I recorded The Crafty Maven Podcast about December Daily, not much went on. My Hubby brought home a nice treat of seasonal Blue Moon Beer, which I enjoy during the holidays. IMG_4172

This is what I done on this day. I need to finish up the other page, with embellishments.

December 5th:

On Saturday I went grocery shopping and then we made some cookies.

For this page I actually have the photo on it, but still need to write my journaling. I haven’t decided if I am going to type my journaling out or write it in white pen on the wood grain. My picture is of Mochi, and I am journaling about the cool hawaiian things we get to have during the holidays.

IMG_4174

December 6th:

On Sunday we made some more cookies and the kids worked on a gingerbread train. The story I am focusing on is how we are going to start a new tradition the includes everyone in our family picking a cookie or two for us to make during the holiday season. I am going to be printing a recipe out for my Hubby’s pick which were his Grandma’s pecan cookies.

The train I am adding to another day.

IMG_4514 (1)

December 7th:

This day is Pearl Harbor day and I want to add an insert with a picture of Pearl Harbor and an article in which they found an airplane over in Kaneohe Bay, that had sunk during the attack. Since this day is such a big day here I really want to pay respect to it. (I haven’t done this yet, but have it in my christmas journal until I am ready to finish this insert)

I decided to make this day be for the kids christmas lists, even though they had them written out a couple of weeks ago. Over the weekend we had finished buying the big gifts, so it seemed a good day to add this.

IMG_4515

 

In the Starbucks christmas bag I added the actual lists the kids made, even though I did include the photo of one of the lists. (Leilani had written her list way early!!)

IMG_4516

 

December 8th:

We spent a lot of this day at the hospital getting check ups. In my album I actual have the 8th and the 9th switched, because i made a silly mistake with how I inserted my big photos for those days. And instead of reprinting I am just going to have them switched. It really isn’t that big of a deal, really.

For the 8th I still need to make a date card and do the journaling and possibly add something to my big photo.

December 9th:

Since this day is going before the 8th in my album I have this day pretty much completed except a little journaling.

I made a big turkey at home because we ate Thanksgiving at a friends house. My Hubby really wanted my sage sausage stuffing and we still wanted a little extra turkey. It made the house smell yummy and I went all out and made mashed potatoes, stuffing, green casserole and cranberry sauce.

IMG_4517

I am also adding the gingerbread train here, to the back of the Starbucks bag. It just seemed to work. Plus I am not sure it really needs tons of journaling.

IMG_4518

This is the day card and journaling about me making the turkey.

IMG_4519

I am going to journal here about the kids making a wish on the wishbone. This is the first year we had them make a wish on the wishbone.

IMG_4520

Sam got the bigger side and he was so happy (Even though he then told us his wish out loud!!) I printed this photo at 8×8 and I love the way it looks. I haven’t decided if I will embellish this photo with anything. I will probably wait until I finish the photo on the other side and then decide.

 

I have photos for December 10 and 11 printed. but not finished.

I figure quite a bit of this week will have prompts from Shimelle or other places, as filler cards since we did a lot of school work again. I am trying to take photos of our christmas decor and I have a few stories I want to get down as well for these slow days.

I think the important thing to remember about projects like December Daily is to not stress and make sure you are journaling what you want to do your pages about. Even if you aren’t caught up it’s not a big deal.

Also I wanted to share with you The Crafty Maven Getaway Podcast December Daily Episode that came out today!! Katty Miranda, Kelly Barron and I talk all about our December Daily albums.

 

http://www.podbean.com/media/player/h369z-5affd7?from=yiiadmin

 

I am hoping to come back later this week and share some more of my album with you!!

Aloha,

Hannah