Laughter is the best medicine

IMG_2919

Aloha!! It’s Hump Day, actually almost over according to my clock!!  I really want to share this layout with you today though!! I made this layout last week. I am using my September Clique Kit which uses the Cocoa Vanilla Hello Lovely Collection. I love this kit, I think so far I have made four layouts, which is really good for me. I have the tendency to make a couple of layouts than need to use different papers or collections so I don’t get bored. But this kit I am just eating it up.  I wished I bought the add on papers, which I didn’t. Not that I need more paper. I have tons!!

I started out this layout in a whole different direction, by painting a background in an ombre backIMG_2916ground. I used one of the pocket page cards that came exclusive to the kit that says life is better when you are laughing. When I read that card I knew the perfect picture for this layout too.

I love this photo of my daughter Leilani, laughing, smiling with that bald head!! I haven’t scrapped many photos when Leilani was completely bald like this from almost two years ago now. It’s a hard time to remember for me, I hadn’t thought at first cutting all her hair off would effect me that much, I mean it’s only hair right?!! But it really did, her hair was so beautiful and long and blonde. It made her seem maybe even more healthy than she really was because at least she had some. But once we cut it off, there was no denying that she was sick, and that the chemo was strong!! I hate that I have to remember that part of life. I mean, who wants to be reminded of these tough times and things we have to go through, especially when we didn’t even choose to go through them. The circumstance choose us, choose ME! And that sucked, but it happened and life went on. Leilani grew, Leilani flourished!!

I think that why this card just had such an impact on my thought process! But it also reminded me of all the laughter that happened in this time too. Even though this was when she had her strongest chemo doses, she also had some of her best IMG_2887belly laughs!

Whenever she had her toys near here, she was always smiling.  They were some of her best friends!! When I took this photo, I remember wanting to try to get her to put the doll down, but she just wouldn’t smile for me. She would only smile and laugh the biggest when holding that baby doll, her baby called brown baby!

That is where I came up with the title which reads Laughter is the best medicine. Without fail, when she was laughing she felt so much better!! I like the way the title looks with all the different fonts. And those Amy Tangerine Thickers are my favorite Thickers!! I love the touch the silver looks with all the pinks and grays.

That pink background I mentioned at the beginning didn’t end up making the cut though!! After I finished my layers on the photo, I just didn’t like the way it looked. It just didn’t feel like me. I find if I am not feeling it, I gotta listen and try something new!!

I am glad I dIMG_2920id, I decided to go for the craft paper with the white hearts. It makes all the difference for the feel. I finished layering the picture and the exclusive card on some black and white dot paper from Dear Lizzy Fine and Dandy. I also added some corrugated black paper from the kit from Fancy Pants. I love the dimension that it gives to my layers, which I will use to my advantage later.

I added a tag, an acetate 4×6 card with Happy on it, and then I found some gold ribbon from my stash to add across the layout. I love the way it looks with the staples in it too. I added those so the ribbon won’t fall off but it just adds one more texture to the layout.

IMG_2917I tucked lots of ephemera pieces into the spaces on my layers!! I added some Vellum  and sticker hearts in the clusters.

I also made a cluster at the bottom of my layout where I used a die cut Ampersand from a die that I had from PinkFresh Studios. I love that die!! It is so fun, it cuts out an ampersand but it also embosses stars and triangles on the inside of the ampersand. So much Fun!!!

I layered IMG_2912some of the gold ribbon from the top of my layout. I put a wood veneer on the ribbon. and another die cut word above the ribbon. I added a butterfly on pop dots. I love how this cluster turned out, it’s just so cute!!

Lastly I added journaling lines for my journaling, which I made all different lengths. I added a couple of hearts on the side of my journaling since the journaling was really important to this layout. I wanted to make sure your eye gets drawn down there too!!

IMG_2915

I love how this kit has been so easy to work with, I can’t wait to use it again!! It is perfect for the girls too!!

I also have a process video for this layout to share with you today too. You can watch the video on my Youtube Channel.

I hope you, my scrappy friends, have an inspired week!! May your crafty mojo be flowing!!

IMG_2933

Aloha,

Hannah

2 thoughts on “Laughter is the best medicine

Comments are closed.