You Gotta Love that Smile

Aloha Scrappers!!!  It’s been really hot here this week, so I have been busy getting ready for school (I homeschool) and doing lots of scrappy stuff. I have been doing lots of getting stuff ready when we start school and I can’t be online all the time for the new YT Channel I started. If you haven’t checked out The Crafty Maven Getaway YT Channel, you should, there is tons of inspiration and lots of scrapping and crafting going on. All the ladies from YT are so talented, and it’s a pleasure working with them.

But because I have been so busy, I have been scrapping without my camera on!! I know shocking, because I love doing process videos. It has been kinda liberating though scrapping knowing I don’t have to think about the time, or camera, not that it keeps me bogged down much. For a change it is nice though.

I want to share quickly with you a layout I worked on Wednesday for a sketch challenge over at the Victoria Marie Facebook Group Hump Day challenge. I love the challenges over on the group. I love that you can look through all the challenges and pick one and not have a time line too!!

Here is the sketch I used from Scrapbook Circle. It’s fun and simple, leaving lots of room to interpret it how you want to. Those kinds of sketches are by far my favorite. IMG_0525

I used cracked pistachio distress re inker with some water and used big paintbrush and swiped my brush across a piece of white cardstock. I didn’t use any gesso, I figured the little bit of media wouldn’t matter much as far as curling on the background. The light mint green color looks so nice on the white. It was the perfect starting point for this layout.

I decided on using an almost black and white photo, the coloring I used let a little of the pink in my daughter’s shirt peek through. It was a little fun playing around in photoshop to create an unique filter for this photo of my middle daughter beaming as she sat up.

Her smile is priceless!! I love that smile, it melts this momma’s heart.

I went easy on the layers, just using some pink Dear Lizzy Fine and Dandy paper, some Websters Pages paper and a piece from the Maggie Holmes Confetti collection. I used a scalloped sticker left over from the Dear Lizzy Serendipity collection was a cool pice to layer in too. I liked that it added texture and was a little different then the punched school notebook layer the sketch used.

For the journaling area I die cut out a Stitched frame from Amy Tangerine. It was nice to contain my journaling in that box too. Allowing for a place to journal that looked pleasing. Many times I just add the journaling at the end where it seems to fit, so this sketch made it nice becIMG_2169ause it gave me a place that looked nice and fit into the design too.

Because I can’t help myself but to add more layers and paper, I added two strips of paper at the bottom of the layout. I used a Multi colored dot from the Dear Lizzy Fine and Dandy collection and an old Amy Tangerine paper with plus marks, which I have to say I love this trend. The black also tied all the black throughout the layout together too.

For the circle element I used a craft doily that I used pink stamping ink on with a blending tool. I then layered a flower sticker form the Serendipity collection.

The bottom paper had yellow dots in it so I used some wash tape strips from the Amy Tangerine Rise and Shine collection. I scattered some pieces throughout the layout so I could build some clusters of embellishments.

I used lots of circles from die cuts I cut out for another layout. Some of the circles had hearts, some circles were small and filled in, and some were thin. I used colors that matched the layout and added them randomly to the clusters.

IMG_2167I made a banner and paired it with a Poolside banner sticker and some circles for the top cluster in the sketch.

For the Title I wanted to use different fonts, so I used mint Elle Studio alpha’s in mint to tie the mint from the background. I used a Poolside sunshine transparency and some block alpha’s in black and white. I love how the colIMG_2170ors in the title match and tie in all the colors I used on the Layout.

I finished by adding some wood buttons from the Poolside Collection and the new Shimelle collection. I added some enamel dots and black color shine splatters.

I roughly outlined the border of the layout to bring your eye into the layout, plus it just seemed like a cute touch to this layout.

I hope you scrappers are finding inspiration in the photos you are going to scrap!! I love looking at old photos of my kids and being inspired to scrap them in a fresh and fun way.

Have a great week!!!

Until next time,

Hannah

One thought on “You Gotta Love that Smile

  1. What an adorable photo!! Your page is so pretty… love all of the details and clustering. Nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.