Mood boards, Parrots and Embossing!

Last Friday over at the Paper Issues Facebook Group Page they had another Scrap and Chat. The inspiration for the challenge was using a11222588_10204349919287919_2898350976022310024_n mood board.  When I first started scrapping I thought mood boards were hard to use, I think in some ways all the different ways you can interpret them scared me. I didn’t want to get it wrong. There are so many ways to use mood boards, you can use the color, the feeling, even using the pictures as ideas. I loved the bright summery colors on the mood board, which inspired me and it got me thinking about the neon stamp pads I have sitting in my craft area. I also knew the Pink Paislee Citrus Bliss collection paper would be perfect. How could I connect those two things together and connect it to my photo?

I remembered I had a citrus slice stamp by Elle’s Studio, so I grab the stamp pads, versa mark ink and my clear glittered embossing powder. I wanted those citrus slices to stand out and what better way then to emboss them. I know it’s messy and labor intensiIMG_0310ve but the results are what always keeps me coming back for more.  I stamped in the neon color first and let dry then went back over with the versa mark ink. Adding embossing powder after a inked a few slices. I did it in sections over the entire 12×12 paper. Then I got my heat gun and embossed away. I love the way it turned out.

It looked so fun and was just ready for me to add layers of patterned paper and embellishments on it. I added layers of the Citrus Bliss line with some Pink Fresh Studios and Dear Lizzy Serendipity. I also added Dear Lizzy Tags in the layers for height to the layers with pop dots. I also cut triangles for the corners to draw the eye inside the layout. Using papers with similar colors and fruit slices everything was matching but not overdoing it because I did match different collections together. Using bright Ell’s Studio Shine tidbits, and a Pink Fresh Studio rub on I added extra interest around the photo. I glued colorful matching sequins around three areas of the layout, including my journaling spot near the bottom of the page. I also used Amy Tan corrugated Orange Thickers under the photo.

The photo is of My hubby and I when went went to Hawaii on our honeymoon in the summer of 2007. It was our first full day in Hawaii and we were walking on the sidewalk in Waikiki after breakfast. There was a guy with Parrots, and like all tourists we got sucked in to holding the parrots and taking a photo with them. We were also out 20 dollars for it too. Though I will admit it was kinda cool to hold such a big bird and have a awesome photo with beautiful tropical birds. Well worth the money, for such a cool experience.IMG_0314Over all this layout didn’t actually take that long either. If I hadn’t been chatting away and playing fun games on the Paper Issues Facebook group it would have only taken about an hour.

I hope you guys to a few extra minutes to head over to the Paper IIMG_0313ssues blog and check out all the amazing talent and inspiration they have going on over there. They always have challenges and layouts to look at. Or take a look on your Pinterest boards and use some photos as a starting point for your own layout. Using different types of inspiration really gets your heart and brain working together to make a wonderful layout and recording your favorite memories.

I hope you have an inspired weekend!!

Aloha,  HannahIMG_0311